

MINUTES OF THE YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB HELD ON TUESDAY 3 FEBRUARY 2015 COMMENCING AT 7:00 PM.

Yalgoo Jockey Club

THE NEXT MEETING OF THE YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB WILL BE HELD IN THE SHIRE COMMUNITY HALL ON WEDNESDAY 25 FEBRUARY 2015 COMMENCING AT 7:00PM.



CONTENTS

1.	DECLARATION OF OPENING			
2.	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES			
3.	CONFI	CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES		
4.	BUSINESS ARISING			
	4.0	ELECTION OF YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB TREASURER	3	
	4.1	ELECTION OF YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB COMMITTEE MEMBERS	3	
5.	FINANCE			
	5.0	FACILITIES	4	
	5.1	SPONSORS	4	
	5.2	CATERING	4	
6.	2015 YALGOO RACE DAY PREPARATIONS			
	6.0	RACING AND WAGERING WA (RWWA) BUSINESS	4	
	6.1	INFRASTRUCTURE AT YALGOO SPORTING COMPLEX	4	
	6.2	BARRIER REPAIRS	4	
	6.3	TOTE	4	
	6.4	SPONSORSHIP	5	
	6.5	RAFFLE		
	6.6	RACE DAY STAFFING		
	6.7	BUSY BEE		
	6.8	2UP	5	
7.	CORRESPONDENCE		5	
8.	OTHER BUSINESS			
Q	NEXT MEETING			



Minutes of the Yalgoo Jockey Club Meeting, held in the Yalgoo Shire Hall, Shamrock Street, Yalgoo, on Tuesday 3 February 2015, commencing at 7:00 pm.

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Yalgoo Jockey Club President Kerry Grieve declared the Meeting open at 7:11pm.

2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES

EXECUTIVE Kerry Grieve (President)

MEMBERS Ross Theedom (Vice President)

Elisha Hodder, (Secretary)

Fiona Newey (Treasurer)

GUESTS Rose Cameron

Gladys Hodder

Olive Gibson

Phyllis Simpson

Charmaine Simpson

Freda Ogilvie

Tamisha Hodder

Zelda Marsh

Albert Grieve

Ray Pratt

Phil Newey

Heather Boyd

Karen Malloch

3. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Due to the formation of a new Yalgoo Jockey Club Committee, there are no previous minutes to be confirmed.

Minutes of the Yalgoo Jockey Club Meeting

That the Minutes of the Yalgoo Jockey Club Meeting held on 13 January 2015 be confirmed.

Moved: H. Boyd Seconded: E. Hodder Motion put and carried 4/0

4. BUSINESS ARISING

4.0 ELECTION OF YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB TREASURER

No written nominations had been received for the office of Treasurer prior to the meeting.

The President invited further nominations.

A Committee member nominated Mrs Fiona Newey.

There being no further nominations, the President declared Mrs Fiona Newey elected to the office of Treasurer.

4.1 ELECTION OF YALGOO JOCKEY CLUB COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Membership forms were distributed to the public present at the meeting. Eight new memberships were received.

The Executive Committee:

President: Mrs Kerry Grieve

Vice President: Dr Ross Theedom (Shire CEO)

Treasurer: Mrs Fiona Newey Secretary: Ms Elisha Hodder

General Members:

Phyllis Simpson

Olive Gibson

Tamisha Hodder

Gladys Hodder

Rose Cameron

Charmaine Simpson

Freda Ogilvie

Zelda Marsh

Karen Malloch

Albert Grieve

Phil Newey

Heather Boyd

5. FINANCE

5.0 FACILITIES

Quotes and recommendations have been received from Royal Wolf regarding the Portaloos and changing rooms for the jockeys.

Quotes and recommendations have also been received from Instant Racking and Steel Shelving for individual shelving for the jockeys gear.

5.1 SPONSORS

Inadequate acknowledgement and thanks has been made in previous years to the generous sponsors, donors, volunteers and helpers at the race day.

Further meetings will discuss how acknowledgement may be made. Suggestions include: individual letters, free entry tickets, advertising in the Race Book, advertisements in the Yalgoo Bulldust.

5.2 CATERING

Catering quotes and suggestions are being assessed from private operators, MEEDAC, and stall holders.

6. 2015 YALGOO RACE DAY PREPARATIONS

6.0 RACING AND WAGERING WA (RWWA) BUSINESS

The race day programme has been received from the Department of Racing and Gaming WA. Six TAB race events have been scheduled.

6.1 INFRASTRUCTURE AT YALGOO SPORTING COMPLEX

The Yalgoo Sporting Complex is listed as a State Heritage building requiring approval to make any alterations to the building.

Therefore, in order to install the required camera tower, stairs and Jockey change rooms, quotes will be required for the hire of these facilities.

Due to recent adverse weather damage, repairs to the Sporting Complex ceiling and an internal door are required.

An insurance claim has been lodged by the Shire of Yalgoo and quotes for repair will be obtained from Mr Keith O'Connor in order to have the work completed by race day.

6.2 BARRIER REPAIRS

The race course barriers have been damaged by storms.

The repairs have been assessed and will be painted/repaired by a combination of Shire workers, a local working bee and possibly by MEEDAC.

6.3 TOTE

A new Tote Manager and staff are required for the race day meeting.

Previously this work was conducted by members of the Mt Magnet Racing Club.

The President is awaiting a reply from Mt Magnet tote staff.

6.4 SPONSORSHIP

A new letter to previous sponsors and donors has been written.

These letters for sponsorship need to be completed and sent by Friday 6 February 2015.

6.5 RAFFLE

A raffle will be arranged for race day if sufficient donations are received.

Local artist Phyllis Simpson has generously offered to donate a painting towards the raffle.

6.6 RACE DAY STAFFING

Bar staff and helpers are required for the bar on race day.

Anyone with the "Responsible Service of Alcohol Ticket" is welcome to apply.

This ticket can also be gained on-line.

Contact Phil Newey on 0409749410 for further details if you would like to apply for the ticket on-line.

Volunteers are also required to man the horse Starting Barrier at each race.

This job is physically demanding.

6.7 BUSY BEE

Two Busy Bee's are to be scheduled. Information regarding times and dates will be sent out shortly.

6.8 2UP

2Up is always an extremely popular event at the Yalgoo Race Day.

As the Yalgoo Jockey Club is now under new management, the President is currently trying to find someone to run the 2UP.

Any information the public may have on 2UP operators would be welcome.

7. CORRESPONDENCE

8. OTHER BUSINESS

The President and Treasurer confirmed the bookings of:

DJ Rev;

The Bouncy Castle; and

Joe's Face Painting Magic.

9. **NEXT MEETING**

The Executive Committee will convene every Wednesday evening at 7:00pm at the Yalgoo Shire Hall to discuss progress.

There being no further business, President Kerry Grieve declared the meeting closed at 8:00pm.

DECLARATION
These minutes were confirmed by the Executive Committee at the Meeting held on Wednesday 25
February 2015 at 7:00pm.
Signed:
Person presiding at the meeting at which these minutes were confirmed