

YALGOO BUSH FIRE BRIGADE

MINUTES

OF THE

ORDINARY MEETING

HELD ON

14 NOVEMBER 2013

CONTENTS

Contents

1.	DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS	. 2
2.	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES	. 2
3.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	. 2
4.	ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS	. 3
5.	GENERAL BUSINESS	. 4
6.	MEETING CLOSURE	. 5



Minutes of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade Meeting held in the Council Chambers, Gibbons Street, Yalgoo, on Wednesday 14 November 2013, commencing at 2.00pm.

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The Chief Bush fire Control Officer Sharon Daishe opened the meeting at 2:15pm.

2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES

Terry K Iturbide S	Shire President
Raul Valenzuela D	Deputy Shire President
Adam Fawkes C	Councillor
Sharon Daishe C	Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Chief Bush Fire Brigade Officer
Heather Boyd E	Executive Manager Corporate (EMC)
Jason Hodder S	Specialist Road Technician
Karen Malloch A	Administration Coordinator/Executive Assistant (ACEA)
Jim McNamarra 🛛 🛛 🛛	District Officer North, DFES Midwest Gascoyne
Chris Phoebe G	Geraldton District Fire Operations Officer, Dept of Parks & Wildlife
Jeremy Ashworth-Preece A	Acting Sergeant, Yalgoo Police
Craig Simpson G	Gardener
Rhys Matthews P	Plant Operator
Craig Hodder F	Plant Operator
Matt McSporran F	Plant Operator
Linton Merry P	Plant Operator
Tim Zubin G	Gardener

3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Background

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade have previously been circulated to all members.

That the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade held on 10 April 2013 be confirmed.

Moved: Craig Simpson	Seconded: Jason Hodder	Motion carried
----------------------	------------------------	----------------

4. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

CBFCO declared all positions vacant.

CBFCO Sharon Daishe called for nominations for **Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer** of the Shire of Yalgoo to be recommended to Council for appointment in accordance with s38(1) Bush Fires Act 1954. **Tom Morrissey**

Nominated by: Sharon Daishe

Seconded by: Terry Iturbide

There being no further nominations, Tom Morrissey was duly elected as the person to be recommended to Council to be appointed as Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer of the Shire of Yalgoo. This appointment needs to be made by Council and will be dealt with at the next Ordinary Council Meeting on 5 December 2013.

CBFCO Sharon Daishe called for nominations for **Captain** of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade.

Jason Hodder

Nominated by: Rhys Matthews

Seconded by: Heather Boyd

There being no further nominations, Jason Hodder was duly elected as the person to be recommended to Council to be appointed as Captain of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade. This appointment needs to be made by Council and will be dealt with at the next Ordinary Council Meeting on 5 December 2013.

CBFCO Sharon Daishe called for nominations for First Lieutenant of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade.

Craig Hodder

Nominated by: Jason Hodder

Seconded by: Rhys Matthews

There being no further nominations, Craig Hodder was duly elected as the person to be recommended to Council to be appointed as First Lieutenant of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade. This appointment needs to be made by Council and will be dealt with at the next Ordinary Council Meeting on 5 December 2013.

CBFCO Sharon Daishe called for nominations for Second Lieutenant of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade.

Craig Simpson

Nominated by: Rhys Matthews

Seconded by: Jason Hodder

There being no further nominations, Craig Simpson was duly elected as the person to be recommended to Council to be appointed as Second Lieutenant of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade. This appointment needs to be made by Council and will be dealt with at the next Ordinary Council Meeting on 5 December 2013.

CBFCO Sharon Daishe called for nominations for **Secretary** of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade.

Karen Malloch

Nominated by: Sharon Daishe

Seconded by: Jason Hodder

There being no further nominations, Karen Malloch was duly elected as the person to be recommended to Council to be appointed as Secretary of the Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade. This appointment needs to be made by Council and will be dealt with at the next Ordinary Council Meeting on 5 December 2013.

5. GENERAL BUSINESS

Information		
DFES Duty Officer - Steve MacDonald until Boxing Day		
DFES Duty Officer – Jim McNamarra after Boxing Day		
bieb bady officer official and the boxing bay		
Phone Shire first 9962 8042 - then DFES 9956 6000		
Action	Who	Status
Christmas Arrangements	Shire	In progress
Prepare list of staff available over Christmas period		
Membership List	Shire	To be done
Complete bush fire brigade membership forms		
Contact List:	Shire	In progress
 Prepare and circulate to all members 		
Training:		
 Jason Hodder – FCO course Geraldton 2014- to be organised 	DFES	
 Exercise – Jim McNamarra/DFES - type & date to be set 		
 Training required for: Craig Simpson, Linton Merry, Matt 		
McSporran		
Order Personal Protective Equipment:	Shire	
 Jackets, pants, gloves, goggles, helmets, boots 		
 PPE Locker to be correctly labelled 		
Enquire correct procedure for washing PPE		
Servicing:	Shire to arrange	
Crib Room Ice machine requires servicing		
Vehicle Maintenance:		
 Small vehicle requires service and check starter and primer 		
Maintenance sheets:	Captain BFB	
To be set up for whatever machinery requires servicing?		
Log books		
Water Corporation:	Shire to arrange	
 Fire Hydrants to be serviced and repaired 		
Ensure all hydrants are clearly defined by posts		
Fire Extinguishers:	Shire to arrange	
To be serviced		
Machinery:	Shire/Captain BFB	
Ensure machinery does not get issued without following		
correct permission procedures from CBFCO		

6. MEETING CLOSURE

There being no further business, Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Sharon Daishe declared the meeting closed at 3:00pm.

DECLARATION

These minutes were confirmed by Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigade at the Annual General Meeting held in March 2014, In accordance with s3.6 of the Shire of Yalgoo Bush Fire Brigades Local Law 2006.

Signed:

Person presiding at the meeting at which these minutes were confirmed