Shire of Yalgoo Ordinary Council Election 21 October 2017

Posted on: Saturday, 21 October 2017 at 1:14:31 PM

wiggleBecoming a Councillor is a big decision but really worth it!

The best way to influence change, is to become a part of the decision making process for your community..

You may help determine local community policies; develop and monitor local .plans and budgets; and ensure the Council’s resources are used fairly for the benefit of all community members.

Local government ordinary elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years. The next local government ordinary elections will be held on 21 October 2017.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

Voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia. However, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

All eligible electors must enrol to vote.

When you enrol to vote, you are enrolled for Commonwealth, State and local government elections. 

All residents in a local government district who are enrolled on the State Electoral Roll are automatically enrolled on the corresponding local government roll.

 People who own or occupy property within a local government district, can apply to their local government to be included on the roll as an owner/occupier, as long as they are eligible electors.

 A body corporate may apply to have up to two eligible electors to be included on the owner/occupier roll.

For more information on enrolment, to enrol online or to update your details go to:

Back to Search Results