

MINUTES

For the Ordinary Council Meeting

Held on the 27th October 2023



AH

Ian Holland

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

27th October 2023

Disclaimer:

The Shire of Yalgoo gives notice to members of the public that any decisions made at the meeting, can be revoked, pursuant to the Local Government Act 1995. Therefore members of the public should not rely on any decisions until formal notification in writing by Council has been received. Any plans or documents in agendas and minutes may be subject to copyright. The express permission of the copyright owner must be obtained before copying any copyright material.

Contents

1	DECLARATION OF OPENING	. 3
2	ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE	. 3
3	SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS	. 3
3.1	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT	. 4
4	MEETING CLOSURE	4

Minutes – Ordinary Council Meeting – Friday 27th October 2023

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) welcomed those in attendance and declared the meeting open at 10.05am.

Sincere appreciation is extended to outgoing Councillors for their contribution to the district. Shire President Cr Greg Payne and Cr Gail Simpson did not renominate for a further term.

2 ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Councillors Cr Raul Valenzuela

Cr Gail Trenfield

Cr Tamisha Hodder

Cr Stanley Willock

Chief Executive Officer lan Holland

Executive Assistant Diane Hodder

3 SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS

In accordance with section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 and Regulation 13 of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998 a person elected to the position of a council member must make a declaration of office prior to being able to act in that office.

The CEO will conduct the swearing in of Councillors elected at the Ordinary Local Government Elections, Saturday 21st of October 2023. The Shire received one (1) nomination for three (3) positions.

Declarations are also to be completed during this process as per the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998.

I, Cr Raul Valenzuela, of Yalgoo having been elected to the office of Councillor of the Shire of Yalgoo declare that I take the office upon myself and will duly, faithfully, honestly, and with integrity, fulfil the duties of the office for the people in the district according to the best of my judgement and ability, and will observe the code of conduct adopted by the Shire of Yalgoo under section 5.104 of the Local Government Act 1995.

Minutes - Ordinary Council Meeting - Friday 27th October 2023

Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998

- 13. Oaths, affirmations and declarations (s. 2.29, 2.42)
 - (1) For the purposes of sections 2.29 and 2.42
 - [(a), (b) deleted]
 - (c) the form of declaration for a mayor, president, deputy mayor, deputy president or councillor is that in Form 7;
 - (d) the form of declaration for a commissioner is that in Form 8.
 - (2) A declaration required by section 2.29 to be made by a person elected as a mayor or president is to be made before
 - the immediate predecessor of the person in the office of mayor or president; or
 - (b) an authorised person.
 - (3) A declaration required by section 2.29 to be made by a person elected as a councillor, deputy mayor or deputy president is to be made before an authorised person.
 - (4) A declaration required by section 2.42 to be made by a person appointed as a commissioner is to be made before an authorised person.
 - (5) In this regulation —

authorised person means a person before whom a statutory declaration can be made under the *Oaths*, *Affidavits and Statutory Declarations Act 2005*.

3.1 ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The CEO called for nominations for the position of Shire President.

Cr Raul Valenzuela and Cr Gail Trenfield both nominated for the position. A secret ballot was held which resulted in a draw.

4 MEETING CLOSURE

The CEO postponed the Ordinary meeting until Tuesday the 31st October 2023 due to the tie for President and the CEO closed the meeting at 11.40am.